Purpose of the Commission

The Commission was created by a Constitutional amendment on November 2, 1976, to investigate allegations of Judicial misconduct in office, violations of the Revised Nevada Code of Judicial Conduct, or disability of judges. The Commission is composed of seven members: two judges appointed by the Nevada Supreme Court, two attorneys appointed by the Board of Governors of the State Bar of Nevada; and three lay persons appointed by the Governor of the State of Nevada. Its staff consists of a full-time General Counsel/Executive Director, Associate General Counsel and three Management Analysts.